Cannabis Control Division

Adult Use – Licenses, Permits, and Fees

The Cannabis Control Division regulates all licensees operating in cannabis markets in New Mexico.  This includes reviewing applications and issuing licenses for adult-use cannabis establishments.  

The Division’s goal is to provide licensing information to applicants and licensees so that they can more easily navigate the application and licensing processes, and remaining compliant with applicable laws, regulations, and policies.  

Applicants should determine the type of license they want to obtain by first determining what type of cannabis business they want to operate. 

To apply for a license please visit our licensing system

To view checklist of producer application requirements

New Mexico Adult Use Cannabis Licenses and fees

 

License / Permit Annual Fees
Cannabis Producer License:
  • $2,500.00 annual license fee
  • $1,000.00 annual fee for each additional licensed premises

 

Annual per plant fee (up to 8,000 plants)

  • $10.00 per plant for each mature commercial cannabis plant
  • $5.00 per plant for each mature medical cannabis plant
Cannabis Producer Microbusiness License:

The fees for this license type are determined by the number of plants growing under each microbusiness license:

  • $1,000.00 annual fee if growing 101 to 200 plants
  • $500.00 annual fee if growing 100 plants or less
Cannabis Manufacturer License:
  • $2,500.00 annual license fee
  • $1,000.00 annual fee for each additional licensed premises
Cannabis Retailer License:
  • $2,500.00 annual license fee
  • $1,000.00 annual fee for each additional licensed premises
Vertically Integrated Cannabis Establishment License:
  • $7,500.00 annual license fee
  • $1,000.00 annual fee for each additional licensed premises

 

Annual per plant producer fee (up to 8,000 plants)

  • $10.00 per plant for each mature commercial cannabis plant
  • $5.00 per plant for each mature medical cannabis plant
Integrated Cannabis Microbusiness License:

Under this license type, a licensee can participate in up to five cannabis activities: production at a single location, manufacturing at a single location, operation of a single cannabis retail establishment, sale and transport of cannabis products produced or manufactured by the licensee, and couriering of cannabis products. The fees for this license type are determined by the number of activities conducted under each microbusiness license:

  • $1,000.00 annual fee for two (2) activities
  • $1,500.00 annual fee for three (3) activities
  • $2,000.00 annual fee for four (4) activities
  • $2,500.00 annual fee for five (5) activities
Cannabis Testing Laboratory License:
  • $2,500.00 annual license fee
  • $1,000.00 annual fee for each additional licensed premises
Cannabis Research Laboratory License:
  • $2,500.00 annual license fee
  • $1,000.00 annual fee for each additional licensed premises
Cannabis Courier License:
  • $250.00 annual license fee
  • $100.00 annual fee for each additional licensed premises
Cannabis Consumption Area:
  • Up to $2,500.00/year